Arensky: Piano Trio No. 1 & Rimsky Korsakov: Wind Quintet

Anton Stephanovich Arensky, Trio in D minor & Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Quintet in B flat – The Nash Ensemble

Arensky: Trio in D minor, Op.32
1. I. Allegro moderato
2. II. Scherzo – Allegro molto
3. III. Elegia – Adagio
4. IV. Finale – Allegro non troppo
Rimsky Korsakov: Quintet in B flat
5. I. Allegro con brio
6. II. Andante – Fughetta – Andante
7. III. Rondo – Allegretto

ArtistThe Nash Ensemble Ian Brown - pianoforte Marcia Crayford - violin Christopher van Kampen - violincello Judith Pearce - flute Antony Pay - clarinet John Pigneguy - horn Brian Wightman - bassoon
Reviews"Everyone knows Sheherazade and Capriccio Espagnole, but Rimsky-Korsakov's other music is almost totally unknown. I discovered the Quintet as part of it was used as a the theme tune to Radio Three's regular Sunday morning magazine progamme in the 1970s. It is an adorable work, and it receives a lovely performance from the Nash Ensemble on this CD. Arensky deserves to be heard more often. I became aware of this trio (one of two) through this recording - I had a cassette version of it, long before CDs took over. It is a work of immense charm, not profound, but melodic and enjoyable."- Nico W
Shopping Cart