Christopher Tye: The Western Wind Mass

Christopher Tye was a chorister at King’s College, Cambridge, and subsequently gained a doctorate in music at the University. He wrote most of his music whilst Organist and Master of the Choristers at Ely Cathedral. Although much of his music has been lost, his extant compositions reveal a master rivalling his contemporaries, Tallis and Taverner. Another “benchmark recording” from The Choir of New College Oxford, conducted by Edward Higginbottom.

The Western Wind Mass
1. I. Gloria
2. II. Credo
3. III. Sanctus, Benedictus
4. IV. Agnus Dei
Anthems and Motets
5. My trust, O Lord, in thee is grounded
6. Christ Rising Again from the Dead
7. Omnes gentes, plaudite manibus
8. Peccaviums cum patribus

ArtistChoir of New College, Oxford, directed by Edward Higginbottom
Reviews“The radiant and well-sustained purity of the boy’s voices combine rewardingly with Tye’s masterly setting of the Latin text. Sonority is beautifully captured in a fine recording from New College Chapel.” Nicholas Anderson, Sunday Times
Shopping Cart