Consolations: Liszt Six Consolations and other reflective pieces for violin and piano

The album completes Liszt’s six Consolations with new transcriptions by Maya Magub to complement the famous ‘Lento Placido’ arranged by Nathan Milstein. With extraordinary key and mood contrasts, each piece now sits within the whole, as Liszt intended. Milstein’s transcription, in the middle of the set, is now framed as in Liszt’s original, to greater emotional impact. These works move from profound simplicity to virtuosic turbulence and wistful charm.

Complementing the set of ‘Consolations’, Magub and Huang bring together other well-known reflective musical gems to offer consolation of some form. Many of their choices were inspired by audience favourites from performances for UK-based charity Everyone Matters, which funds life-enriching concerts in care homes and hospices. When combined, the emotional weight of these pieces is  even greater. The performers, too, drew great consolation from their programme and the ability to communicate with an audience despite the creative restrictions of pandemic lockdowns.

Magub and Huang recorded the album separately in lockdown, with much creative dialogue and experimentation between them. New possibilities afforded by the necessity of recording separately encouraged musical freedom and risk-taking, as well as the opportunity to create the immediacy of a small, intimate concert through close microphone placement. Out of this process emerges a true collaboration and an album which Magub and Huang hope will bring consolation to many people.

1. Schumann, Abendlied, Op. 85 No. 12
2. Massenet, Méditation: Thaïs
3. Rachmaninov, Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14

Liszt Consolations S.172/R.12

4. No.1 – Andante con moto *
5. No.2 – Un poco più mosso *
6. No.3 – Lento placido
7. No.4 – Quasi Adagio *
8. No.5 – Andantino *
9. No.6 – Allegro sempre cantabile *

10. J.S. Bach (arr. Gounod), Ave Maria
11. Kreisler Liebesleid
12. Rimsky-Korsakov (arr. Kreisler), Chant Hindou: Sadko
13. Paradis (arr. Duskhin), Sicilienne
14. Handel, Largo: Xerxes
15. Mendelssohn, On Wings of Song, Op. 34 No. 2
16. Mendelssohn, Song without Words, Op. 19 No. 1
17. Schumann, Träumerei, Op. 15 No. 7
18. Chopin, Raindrop Prelude, Op. 28 No. 15


*transcribed: Maya Magub. World premiere recordings

Reviews"the superb violinist Maya Magub"

"flawless ensemble work" "Exquisitely produced and insightfully annotated" "elegantly unassuming and perfectly calibrated performance by two exceptional artists."

You may also like…

Shopping Cart