Haydn: Symphonies Nos. 88 & 104 (London)

Gramophone recommended recording

Symphony No. 88 in G major
1. 1st Movt. Adagio – Allegro
2. 2nd Movt. Largo
3. 3rd Movt. Menuetto – Allegretto
4. 4th Movt. Finale – Allegro con spirito

Haydn: Symphony No. 104 in D major ‘London’
5. 1st Movt. Adagio – Allegro
6. 2nd Movt. Andante
7. 3rd Movt. Menuetto – Allegro
8. 4th Movt. Finale – Spiritoso

ArtistThe Bournemouth Sinfonietta Directed by Ronald Thomas
Reviews“There is a freshness and exuberance about the whole performance that I find quite irresistible (88). The exhilarating brio and directness – makes the music come to life as though it had been written yesterday, not nearly two centuries ago (104). The invigorating effect of both symphonies is enhanced by the superlative quality of CRD’s recording.” R. G. – The Gramophone
Shopping Cart