Josef Suk: The Works for String Quartet

“This disc of Josef Suk’s chamber music is invaluable and generously timed… An open-handed, sensible and substantial entry in the Suk stakes in 1990s digital sound. The performances leave you in no doubt as to the searing impact of the Meditation and the Second Quartet and the attractions of the First Quartet.” – Rob Barnett,

Quartet No.1 in B flat major, Op.11
1. Allegro moderato
2. Intermezzo (tempo di marcia)
3. Adagio, ma non troppo
4. Allegro giocoso

5. Ballade
6. Barcarolle
7. Minuet
8. Quartet No.2 Op.31
9. Meditation Op.35a

AwardsPenguin Guide Rosette
ArtistsThe Suk Quartet: Ivan Straus – violin Vojtech Jouza – violin Karel Rehak – viola Jan Stros – cello
Shopping Cart