Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence, String in E flat minor, Trio and Quartet fragments

“There’s irresistible joie de vivre in this performance of ‘Souvenir de Florence’. The Endellion is clearly fired up by the two extra string partners, and the ensemble conveys the kind of spontaneous enjoyment that only comes from the best chamber music playing.” BBC Music Magazine

String Sextet, Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70
1. Allegro con spirito
2. Adagio cantabile e con moto
3. Allegretto moderato
4. Allegro vivace

String Quartet No. 3 in E flat minor, Op. 30
5. Andante sostenuto – Allegro moderato – Andante sostenuto
6. Allegro vivo e scherzando
7. Andante funebre e doloroso
8. Allegro non troppo e resoluto

Four Early Pieces
9. Allegretto moderato in D for string trio
10. Allegretto in E for string quartet
11. Allegro vivace in B flat for string quartet
12. Andante molto in G for string quartet

ArtistThe Endellion Quartet with Robert Cohen cello and Tim Boulton viola
Reviews"The elegiac Third Quartet shows a typically spirited approach, with wide-ranging expression. The great Andante funebre e doloroso has sometimes sounded more doleful at the start (it certainly does in the Borodin Quartet recording) but in this version the music keeps moving, as Tchaikovsky asks, and the consoling second theme is most beautifully characterised." – Gramophone
Shopping Cart