Schumann and Mendelssohn: String Quartets

String Quartets


Schumann: String Quartet No. 1 in A minor, Op. 41 No. 1

1. Introduzione – Andante espressivo – Allegro
2. Scherzo – Presto – Intermezzo
3. Adagio
4. Presto – Moderato

Schumann: String Quartet No. 2 in F major, Op. 41 No. 2
5. Allegro vivace
6. Andante, quasi variazioni
7. Scherzo – Presto – Trio – L’istesso tempo
8. Allegro molto vivace



Schumann: String Quartet No. 3 in A major, Op. 41 No. 3
9. Andante espressivo – Allegro molto moderato
10. Assai agitato – Un poco adagio – Tempo risoluto
11. Adagio molto
12. Allegro molto vivace

Mendelssohn: String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 13
13. Adagio – Allegro vivace
14. Adagio non lento – Poco piu animato
15. Intermezzo allegro con moto – Allegro di molto
16. Presto – Adagio non lento

ArtistThe Alberni String Quartet
Reviews"If you love the quartet medium, you will love this record. The Alberni’s performances here are zestful, well-considered and integrated, but filled with a youthful joy.” “Performances which are deeply satisfying. The engineers have produced an extremely natural sound.” – Peter Turner, Hi-Fi News & Record Review "A very good selection of Schumann's string Quartets - all of them. Coupled with one by Mendelssohn. Ideal. A wonderful 2-CD set of enduring enjoyment!" – Stephen Wilkins "Gently persuasive performances underline the intimate nature of Schumann's writing..." – BBC Music Magazine
Shopping Cart