Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in G minor (K516) & String Quintet in C minor (k406)

“Their account of the great G minor is less feverishly paced than some. If this makes the haunting opening allegro sound less desperate, it allows the astonishing richness and intensity of the inner parts — strongly played — to amaze and move you all the more.” – The Sunday Times

String Quintet No. 4 in G minor, K516
1. Allegro
2. Allegretto
3. Adagio ma non troppo
4. Adagio – Allegro

String Quintet in C Minor, K 406
5. Allegro
6. Andante
7. Menuetto & trio
8. Menuetto & trio

ArtistThe Chilingirian Quartet with Yuko Inoue
Reviews"From the fast-flowing theme that opens the G minor Quintet, the expanded Chilingirian players point to a very free view of the shape and pace of the movement, in which the frequent falling passages are often linked with a slowing of the pulse to bring added beauty. The punctuating chords in the second movement are unusually pointed, and the following Adagio non troppo is both affectionate and of unhurried sensitivity. I particularly like the way their tramping gait opens a view of the finale infused with happiness. The players take a robust approach to the outer allegros of the C minor Quintet that serves the works well, and with a refined approach to the inner movements they lack nothing in their devotion to the music." – The Strad
Shopping Cart