Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintets K174 and K515

“The splendid Chilingirian recordings on modern instruments have long been praised by us and rank among the freshest and most spontaneous performances in the catalogue. They are still second to none among versions using modern instruments.” The Penguin Guide to Classical Music.

String Quintet No. 1 in B flat major, K174
1. Allegro moderato
2. Adagio
3. Menuetto, ma allegretto & trio
4. Allegro

String Quintet No. 3 in C major, K515
5. Allegro
6. Menuetto & trio – Allegretto
7. Andante
8. Allegro

String Quintet No. 1 in B flat major, K174
9. Menuetto, ma allegretto & trio (first abandoned version)
10. Allegro (first abandoned version)

ArtistThe Chilingirian Quartet Yuko Inoue
Reviews"The performances here are notable for their total spontaneity: how splendidly the group bounce off the opening of the C major Quintet, K515, with just the right degree of weight from the cello, and how beautifully they phrase the beautiful Adagio of K174. The simplicity of the Andante of K515 is ravishing and the brilliant finale is particularly infectious." – Gramophone ".. a fine achievement – as of now the only means of exploring the chamber music of one of Baroque music’s greatest figures. As such it will be essential listening for Handelians, for whom it will provide great pleasure in hearing various movements they will already know in different guises, and the music’s innate charm will certainly appeal to them and the general music lover."- Curtis Rogers
Shopping Cart